Regional Ambulance Service

Regional Ambulance Service


Ambulance care in the Netherlands is organised by region into Regional Ambulance Services (RAVs). Since 1 January 2021, under the Ambulance Care Services Act, the RAV has been the legal entity that is legally authorised to provide ambulance care and that has to maintain the ambulance care dispatch centre.

RAV regions

There are 25 RAV regions in the Netherlands. The division into RAV regions is the same as that for Security Regions, based on the Security Regions Act.


Historically, the RAVs have included a wide variety of legal entities, such as foundations, various joint schemes, cooperative societies and private companies.


The Interim Ambulance Care Act has been in force since 1 January 2013. This was an interim act with a duration of five years. New structural legislation relating to ambulance care was to take effect on 1 January 2018. In early 2016, it became clear that the Minister of Health, Welfare and Sport had the intention of extending the Interim Ambulance Care Act for two years.

Look here for more information about legislation relevant to ambulance care, including the Interim Ambulance Care Act.